What I Made – Floral Carpet Sling

I love the look of a carpet bag. A few days ago I was at Forever 21, as mentioned in my previous post. I spotted this carpet clutch, and although I was totally willing to spend twenty five on it, I would rather have my blazer. After we left, I was determined to find another one, but alas, none showed up so I took it upon myself to make my own!

The fabric, very thick and heavy (definitely a fall piece), I bought a wrap of it at my local thrift store for fifty cents. The strap is actually a belt my best friend gave to me with a bunch of other belts for a project I was working on. It was too thick for the project and I’ve had it ever since. In total, it took me about an hour to make, including the fact that my sewing machine was acting up. Surprisingly enough, I’ve never broken a needle before but since this fabric was so thick, I bent one and snapped another from working on this.

Let me know what you guys think! I love the feedback! – Hannah

4 thoughts on “What I Made – Floral Carpet Sling

  1. That’s cool! That material looks familiar to me. I think I have a vintage purse with a similar pattern, not quite, but close. It’s packed up, but if I come across it, I’ll pop it up and let you know.

Tell me a little something about what you think!

